clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2018 NFL Playoff schedule: Matchups, bracket, and kickoff times

NFL: Jacksonville Jaguars at Tennessee Titans Christopher Hanewinckel-USA TODAY Sports

The 2017-2018 NFL Playoff schedule has been set, with the Wildcard round set to begin next weekend. The march toward Minneapolis, Minnesota and Super Bowl LII on February 4 begins Saturday in Kansas City. The AFC side of the playoff bracket will go through the defending Super Bowl champion New England Patriots, who claimed homefield advantage with the top seed in the conference, while the NFC’s top seed are the Philadelphia Eagles, who will try to overcome the torn ACL for starting quarterback Carson Wentz with Nick Foles under center.

Can the second seed in the NFC, the Minnesota Vikings, surpass the Eagles to win the conference and become the first team to ever play in a Super Bowl in their home stadium? Will the defending NFC champions, the Atlanta Falcons who slipped into the sixth seed this year, be able to make a run toward a second-straight Super Bowl appearance?

Will the PIttsburgh Steelers or Jacksonville Jaguars be able to challenge the Patriots in the AFC? Will the Tennessee Titans or Kansas City Chiefs surprise someone? Can the Buffalo Bills, making the postseason for the first time since 1999, suddenly ride their momentum deep into the playoff bracket?

Will the NFC side of the bracket see someone other than the top two seeds come out of the tournament? The Los Angeles Rams sitting in the third seed have the best chance to beat out Philadelphia and Minnesota, while the New Orleans Saints, Carolina Panthers, and the Falcons all look to make the NFC South the representatives for the title game in February.

Here is the breakdown of the seedings and bracket for the 2018 Playoffs:

AFC Playoffs

1. New England Patriots (13-3, AFC East champions)
2. Pittsburgh Steelers (13-3, AFC North champions)
3. Jacksonville Jaguars (10-6, AFC South champions)
4. Kansas City Chiefs (10-6, AFC West champions)
5. Tennessee Titans (9-7)
6. Buffalo Bills (9-7)

NFC Playoffs

1. Philadelphia Eagles (13-3, NFC East champions)
2. Minnesota Vikings (13-3, NFC North champions)
3. Los Angeles Rams (11-5, NFC West champions)
4. New Orleans Saints (11-5, NFC South champions)
5. Carolina Panthers (11-5)
6. Atlanta Falcons (10-6)

Wild Card Round schedule

Saturday, Jan. 6

Tennessee Titans at Kansas City Chiefs, 4:35 p.m., ESPN/ABC

Atlanta Falcons at Los Angeles Rams, 8:15 p.m., NBC

Sunday, Jan. 7

Buffalo Bills at Jacksonville Jaguars, 1:05 p.m., CBS

Carolina Panthers at New Orleans Saints, 4:40 p.m., FOX

AFC byes: New England Patriots, Pittsburgh Steelers

NFC byes: Philadelphia Eagles, Minnesota Vikings

Divisional Round

Saturday, Jan. 13

Lowest NFC seed from Wild Card Round at Philadelphia Eagles, 4:35 p.m., NBC

Lowest AFC seed from Wild Card Round at New England Patriots, 8:15 p.m., CBS

Sunday, Jan. 14

Highest AFC seed from Wild Card Round at Pittsburgh Steelers, 1:05 p.m., CBS

Highest NFC seed from Wild Card Round at Minnesota Vikings, 4:40 p.m., FOX

Championship Round

Sunday, Jan. 21

AFC Championship: Game 5 winner vs. Game 7 winner, 3:05 p.m., CBS

NFC Championship: Game 6 winner vs. Game 8 winner, 6:40 p.m., FOX

Super Bowl LII

Sunday, Feb. 4

AFC Champion vs. NFC Champion, 6:30 p.m., NBC

All times are Eastern.