clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Dolphins depth chart released ahead of Atlanta Falcons preseason game

It is early in the preseason, but the first depth chart of the year has been released by the Miami Dolphins.

NFL: Miami Dolphins-Training Camp Steve Mitchell-USA TODAY Sports

The Miami Dolphins have released their first depth chart of the year as part of their preparation for their first preseason game, a Thursday night contest in Miami against the Atlanta Falcons. The depth chart does not yet include the newly added Jay Cutler, who has not yet officially signed his contract. And, while this is still extremely early and things will obviously change, it does give us a quick look at what the coaches are seeing.

The starting offense does not have any real surprises to it. Two of the starters, quarterback Ryan Tannehill and left guard Ted Larsen, have suffered injuries that are expected to keep both of them out of action for a lengthy period of time, possibly for the year. The defensive starters include rookie Raekwon McMillan as on of the three linebackers - and assuming the Dolphins listed the linebackers in the formation in which they will play despite not including “MLB,” “WLB,” or “SLB” designations, he is listed as the starting middle linebacker.

The second team is a little more interesting. The second-string wide receivers are Leonte Carroo, Jakeem Grant, and Drew Morgan. Carroo and Grant are not really surprises in those two spots, but undrafted rookie Morgan taking the second spot on the depth chart as the “slot” receiver could be a sign that the coaches are impressed by a player who was flashing throughout the offseason program.

The full depth chart is:

Dolphins 2017 Depth Chart (Preseason Week 2)

Postition First team Second team Third team Fourth team Fifth team Sixth team
Postition First team Second team Third team Fourth team Fifth team Sixth team
WR Kenny Stills Leonte Carroo Malcolm Lewis (R) Mitch Mathews Isaiah Ford (R)
LT Laremy Tunsil Sam Young
LG Ted Larsen Anthony Steen Avery Young Isame Facine
C Mike Pouncey Kraig Urbik Jake Brendel
RG Jermon Bushrod Isaac Asiata (R) Kwayde Miller (R)
RT Ja'Wuan James Jesse Davis Eric Smith (R)
TE Julius Thomas Anthony Fasano MarQuies Gray Thomas Duarte Chris Pantale
QB Matt Moore Jay Cutler Brandon Doughty David Fales
RB Jay Ajayi Damien WIlliams Kenyan Drake Senorise Perry Storm Johnson De'Veon Smith (R)
WR Jarvis Landry Drew Morgan (R) Jordan Westerkamp (R)
WR DeVante Parker Jakeem Grant Damore'ea Stringfellow (R) Francis Owusu (R) Rashawn Scott
DE Andre Branch Charles Harris (R) Terrence Fede
DT Ndamukong Suh Davon Godchaux (R) Vincent Taylor (R)
DT Jordan Phillips Nick Williams Julius Warmsley Lawrence Okoye
DE Cameron Wake William Hayes Cameron Malveaux (R) Praise Martin-Oguike (R) Joby Saint Fleur (R)
LB Kiko Alonso Neville Hewitt Deon Lacey Junior Sylvestre
LB Raekwon McMillan (R) Mike Hull Chase Allen (R)
LB Lawrence Timmons Trevor Reilly Brandon Watts
CB Byron Maxwell Bobby McCain Alterraun Verner Walt Aikens Torry McTyer (R)
CB Xavien Howard Tony Lippett Lafayette Pitts Cordrea Tankersley (R) Larry Hope (R)
S Reshad Jones Michael Thomas Jordan Lucas Maurice Smith (R)
S Nate Allen T.J. McDonald A.J. Hendy
K Andrew Franks
P Matt Darr Matt Haack
KO Andrew Franks Matt Darr
H Matt Darr Matt Haack
LS John Denney Winston Chapman
KOR Jakeem Grant Kenyan Drake Damien Williams Senorise Perry Drew Morgan (R)
PR Jakeem Grant Kenyan Drake Drew Morgan (R) Jordan Westerkamp (R)