clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Jay Ajayi named Dolphins MVP, Cameron Wake lands team leader award

New, comments

Kenny Stills was recognized for his community service this season.

New England Patriots v Miami Dolphins Photo by Mike Ehrmann/Getty Images

The Miami Dolphins announced their team awards for the 2016 season on Friday, with running back Jay Ajayi, defensive end Cameron Wake, and wide receiver Kenny Stills all picking up honors. Ajayi took the top award as the Dan Marino Most Valuable Player for the season.

Ajayi ran for 1,272 yards on the season, the third-most in team history for a single season. He rushed for 200-yards three times during the year, becoming just the fourth player in NFL history to accomplish the feat, joining Earl Campbell, O.J. Simpson, and Tiki Barber. Two of the three 200-yard performances came on back-to-back weeks, making Ajayi just the fourth player to accomplish that as well, joining Campbell, Simpson, and Ricky Williams.

Wake was named the team’s Don Shula Leadership Award winner as well as the team’s Ed Block Courage Award winner. It marks the third time Wake has received the Don Shula Leadership Award, joining Zach Thomas and Jason Taylor as the only three-time honorees. This marked the first time Wake received the Ed Block Courage Award, and just the second time in team history a defensive end won the award, joining David Bowens. It is also just the second time a player has received both the Don Shula and the Ed Block awards in the same season, joining Dan Marino.

Wake returned from a season-ending Achilles tear in 2015 to finish the 2016 season with 11.5 sacks, third most in the AFC and tied for sixth in the league. He is just the third player in the past decade to record 10-plus sacks at age 34 or older in the league, joining Julius Pepper and John Abraham. He was tied for the second in the AFC and third in the NFL with five forced fumbles.

Stills was recognized as the Nat Moore Community Service Award winner, the second time a wide receiver has received the award joining Wes Welker. Stills, along with teammates Arian Foster, Jelani Jenkins and Michael Thomas, hosted a town hall meeting with community leaders, law enforcement and coaches, funded a community tailgate with tickets and refreshments for each home game and took part in a ride-a-long with the Broward Sheriff’s Office in conjunction with RISE, The Ross Initiative in Sports for Equality. Stills also was the team’s most active player in community Tuesdays. This year alone Stills visited three schools, two hospitals, participated in a back-to-school backpack distribution, handed out toys for the holidays and assisted in Make-A-Wish visits to the team.

The Dan Marino MVP award is voted upon by the South Florida media and the organization. The Don Shula Leadership Award is voted upon by the players, as is the Ed Block Courage Award, with each team in the league recognizing one member for the latter award. The Nat Moore Community Service Award winner is selected by the Miami Dolphins Foundation.