clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NFL Draft Order 2017: First 20 picks locked

Playoff teams will be added as they lose in the postseason.

Cleveland Browns v Pittsburgh Steelers Photo by Justin K. Aller/Getty Images

The NFL’s 2016 regular season came to an end on Sunday, with the main focus now turning to the Playoffs for the 12 teams still in contention for a Super Bowl championship. The other 20 teams in the league are on to preparations for 2017, including the 2017 NFL Draft which will begin on April 27.

The NFL Draft order is set in reverse of the final standings across the entire league. In other words, the team with the worst record in the league will be selecting first, then the next worst team will select second, and so on through the first 20 picks. Ties are broken based on strength of schedule from the past season, followed by record against conference opponents, then record against divisional opponents, and finally, a coin flip.

The Playoff teams will be added to the Draft order as they are eliminated from the postseason, with the Super Bowl champions picking 32nd, then the Super Bowl runner-up 31st, down to the Wildcard losing teams selecting 21st through 24th.

The NFL Draft order for the first 20 picks is:

  1. Cleveland Browns (1-15)
  2. San Francisco 49ers (2-14)
  3. Chicago Bears (3-13, 0.522 strength of schedule)
  4. Jacksonville Jaguars (3-13, 0.528)
  5. Tennessee Titans (via Los Angeles Rams (4-12))
  6. New York Jets (5-11, 0.518)
  7. San Diego Chargers (5-11, 0.543)
  8. Carolina Panthers (6-10)
  9. Cincinnati Bengals (6-9-1)
  10. Buffalo Bills (7-9, 0.482)
  11. New Orleans Saints (7-9, 0.525)
  12. Cleveland Browns (via Philadelphia Eagles (7-9, 0.559))
  13. Arizona Cardinals (7-8-1)
  14. Indianapolis Colts (8-8, 0.492)*
  15. Philadelphia Eagles (via Minnesota Vikings (8-8, 0.492))*
  16. Baltimore Ravens (8-8, 0.498)
  17. Washington Redskins (8-7-1)
  18. Tennessee Titans (9-7, 0.465)
  19. Tampa Bay Buccaneers (9-7, 0.492)
  20. Denver Broncos (9-7, 0.549)

*Picks 14 and 15 will be determined by a coin toss.

The Playoff teams (in reverse seeding order) are:

Detroit Lions (NFC Wildcard 2) (9-7)

Miami Dolphins (AFC Wildcard 2) (10-6)

New York Giants (NFC Wildcard 1) (11-5)

Oakland Raiders (AFC Wildcard 1) (12-4)

Houston Texans (AFC 4th Seed - AFC South champ) (9-7)

Green Bay Packers (NFC 4th seed - NFC North champ) (10-6)

Seattle Seahawks (NFC 3rd seed - NFC West champ) (10-5-1)

Pittsburgh Steelers (AFC 3rd seed - AFC North champ) (11-5)

Atlanta Falcons (NFC 2nd seed - NFC South champ) (11-5)

Kansas City Chiefs (AFC 2nd seed - AFC West champ) (12-4)

Dallas Cowboys (NFC 1st seed - NFC East champ) (13-3)

New England Patriots (AFC 1st seed - AFC East champ) (14-2)