clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NFL Draft 2017 order updated following Divisional round of playoffs

The Seahawks, Texans, Cowboys, and Chiefs are now locked into draft positions.

NFL: NFC Divisional-Green Bay Packers at Dallas Cowboys Matthew Emmons-USA TODAY Sports

The 2017 NFL Playoffs are continuing toward the AFC Championship and NFC Championship games, which will be played next weekend. This past weekend, another four teams fell out of the postseason tournament, which means we can continue to build the NFL Draft order for next April’s selection meeting.

On Saturday, the Seattle Seahawks and Houston Texans both lost. Sunday saw the Dallas Cowboys and Kansas City Chiefs likewise lose. Because of those losses, all four teams are now locked into their positions in the draft order.

The NFL Draft first-round order is set based on the 2016 season’s results. The first 20 positions are the non-playoff teams, ordered from the worst record to the best. The other 12 teams are then ordered based on when they lose in the postseason, with the Super Bowl champions taking the 32nd position. The playoff teams are grouped by the round in which they lose, then ordered by their regular season records. Ties in the non-playoff and playoff groups are broken based on strength of schedule, then record against conference opponents, then record against division opponents, and finally a coin toss.

2017 NFL Draft order

  1. Cleveland Browns (1-15)
  2. San Francisco 49ers (2-14)
  3. Chicago Bears (3-13, 0.522 strength of schedule)
  4. Jacksonville Jaguars (3-13, 0.528)
  5. Tennessee Titans (via Los Angeles Rams (4-12))
  6. New York Jets (5-11, 0.518)
  7. San Diego Chargers (5-11, 0.543)
  8. Carolina Panthers (6-10)
  9. Cincinnati Bengals (6-9-1)
  10. Buffalo Bills (7-9, 0.482)
  11. New Orleans Saints (7-9, 0.525)
  12. Cleveland Browns (via Philadelphia Eagles (7-9, 0.559))
  13. Arizona Cardinals (7-8-1)
  14. Indianapolis Colts (8-8, 0.492)*
  15. Philadelphia Eagles (via Minnesota Vikings (8-8, 0.492))*
  16. Baltimore Ravens (8-8, 0.498)
  17. Washington Redskins (8-7-1)
  18. Tennessee Titans (9-7, 0.465)
  19. Tampa Bay Buccaneers (9-7, 0.492)
  20. Denver Broncos (9-7, 0.549)
  21. Detroit Lions (9-7)
  22. Miami Dolphins (10-6)
  23. New York Giants (11-5)
  24. Oakland Raiders (12-4)
  25. Houston Texans (9-7)
  26. Seattle Seahawks (10-5-1)
  27. Kansas City Chiefs (12-4)
  28. Dallas Cowboys (13-3)

*Picks 14 and 15 will be determined by a coin toss.

The remaining Playoff teams (in reverse seeding order) are:

Green Bay Packers (NFC 4th seed - NFC North champ) (10-6)

Pittsburgh Steelers (AFC 3rd seed - AFC North champ) (11-5)

Atlanta Falcons (NFC 2nd seed - NFC South champ) (11-5)

New England Patriots (AFC 1st seed - AFC East champ) (14-2)