clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jason Taylor makes list of Hall of Fame nominees

Miami Dolphins legend Jason Taylor is among the 94 players and coaches listed as nominees for the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

New York Jets v Miami Dolphins Photo by Marc Serota/Getty Images

The NFL released the list of 94 players and coaches who have made the first cut in the process of determining the 2017 Pro Football Hall of Fame induction class. This list of nominees will be cut down to 25 semi-finalists in November, then down to 15 finalists in January. The finalists will then be presented, along with the senior committee’s finalist, Kenny Easley, and the two contributor finalists, Jerry Jones and Paul Tagliabue, to the Selection Committee for a final vote.

The Class of 2017 will be announced on February 4 at the league’s NFL Honors awards show.

Included on the list of 94 players is Miami Dolphins legend Jason Taylor, who is in his first year of eligibility. Taylor retired from the Dolphins in 2011, playing for the team from 1997 to 2007, in 2009, and in 2011. He played for the Washington Redskins in 2008 and the New York Jets in 2010. During his career, he recorded 139.5 sacks, ranking him sixth all-time on the league’s career sacks list. Taylow was selected to six Pro Bowls, was a three time First-Team All-Pro selection, led the leagues in sacks in 2002, and was the league’s Defensive Player of the Year in 2006.

Taylor also recorded 775 tackles, 8 interceptions with three touchdowns, 77 passes defensed, 46 forced fumbles, and 29 fumble recoveries with 6 touchdowns. His six fumble returns for a touchdown ranks first all time in league history.

Other than Taylor, the top eight players in sacks have all been inducted into the Hall of Fame.

The Dolphins also have linebacker Zach Thomas, linebacker Joey Porter, defensive back Troy Vincent, and coach Jimmy Johnson on the list of nominees. The briefly Dolphins wide receiver Chad Johnson is also on the list.

The first time eligible players on the list, in addition to Taylor, are quarterback Donovan McNabb, running back LaDanien Tomlinson, wide receiver Johnson, wide receiver Derrick Mason, wide receiver Hines Ward, offensive lineman Olin Kreutz, linebacker Porter, safety Brian Dawkins, and safety Bob Sabders.