clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Miami awarded Super Bowl LIV in 2020

The Super Bowl will return to South Florida in 2020.

Steve Mitchell-USA TODAY Sports

The NFL owners are meeting in Charlotte, North Carolina this week, holding their annual spring meetings. Included in the agenda for the meetings as a vote on three Super Bowls, the 2019 53rd, 2020 54th, and 2021 55th championship games. After the vote in which South Florida was considered a finalist, Miami has been awarded 2020's Super Bowl LIV, the game to be played after the 2019 regular season.

This returns Miami to the Super Bowl rotation, giving the region their record-setting 11th time hosting the league's championship. The last time Miami hosted the game was in 2010, with Super Bowl XLIV (44). That game had originally been granted to New York, where the New York Jets were expected to build a stadium in Manhattan, with the opening anticipated in 2008. That proposed stadium fell through, however, and the league awarded the game to Miami.

The city has also hosted the game in 2007 (Super Bowl XLI), 1999 (Super Bowl XXXIII), 1995 (Super Bowl XXXIX), and 1989 (Super Bowl XXIII) in the team's current stadium, as well as in 1979 (Super Bowl XIII), 1976 (Super Bowl X), 1971 (Super Bowl V), 1969 (Super Bowl III), and 1968 (Super Bowl II) at the former home of the Dolphins, the Orange Bowl. After a rain storm during Super Bowl XLI, the league pulled back from Miami as a host city, with multiple bids failing to reach finalist status (save for the change venue bid for the 2010 game). The league wanted to see improvements to the Dolphins' home stadium before returning to the site, renovations that would include a canopy over the stands. Those renovations are currently underway, with the canopy to be installed prior to the start of the upcoming 2016 season.

The league awarded Super Bowl LIII to Atlanta after four rounds of voting. Super Bowl LIV was awarded to Miami in round of that vote. Super Bowl LV will be played in Los Angeles.

New Orleans, who is currently tied with Miami at 10 Super Bowls hosted, submitted a bid to host the 2019 Super Bowl, but was beaten by Atlanta.