clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NFL Draft 2016 attendees list: 25 prospects waiting to hug the Commissioner

The NFL annually invites several prospects to the Draft to walk across the stage when they are selected. Here are this year's 25 players.

Brian Spurlock-USA TODAY Sports

The 2016 NFL Draft will kickoff tonight at 8pm ET. Before the first round ends, 31 college players will become the first members of the 2016 rookie class (the New England Patriots do not have a first round pick due to the Deflategate scandal). Many of the players selected tonight, and throughout the weekend, will be at home with their families and friends - scenes we have all watched on the various TV coverage over the past few years. There is another group of players, however, who usually dominant the first round - the players invited to attend the Draft.

These are, of course, usually players the league feels will be first-round picks, who get to sit at the tables set up in the green room, waiting for their names to be called by the Commissioner. Some of the players may slip into the second round (which of course then lends itself to the TV cameras in their faces showing their reaction to every player selected ahead of them), but for the most part, the invited group of players will walk across the stage Thursday night, hug Roger Goodell, hold up a number one jersey from their team, and pose for pictures with their family. It's a great moment for the young men, and it gives fans the first chance to see their newest player.

This year, 25 players accepted the invitation to attend the Draft, including the presumed first two picks in quarterbacks Jared Goff and Carson Wentz. The full list of attendees is:

  • QB Jared Goff, California
  • QB Carson Wentz, North Dakota State
  • RB Ezekiel Elliott, Ohio State
  • OT Jack Conklin, Michigan State
  • OT Taylor Decker, Ohio State
  • OT Ronnie Stanley, Notre Dame
  • OT Laremy Tunsil, Mississippi
  • WR Corey Coleman, Baylor
  • WR Josh Doctson, TCU
  • WR Laquon Treadwell, Mississippi
  • DE Joey Bosa, Ohio State
  • DE Kevin Dodd, Clemson
  • DE Shaq Lawson, Clemson
  • DT Vernon Butler, Louisiana Tech
  • DT Chris Jones, Mississippi State
  • DT Robert Nkemdiche, Mississippi
  • DT Jarran Reed, Alabama
  • DT A'Shawn Robinson, Alabama
  • LB Myles Jack, UCLA
  • LB Darron Lee, Ohio State
  • LB Reggie Ragland, Alabama
  • CB Eli Apple, Ohio State
  • CB Vernon Hargreaves, Florida
  • CB Jalen Ramsey, Florida State
  • S Keanu Neal, Florida