clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Dolphins announce numbers for Mario Williams, Kiko Alonso, Byron Maxwell (and poor Tyler Murphy)

New, comments

The Miami Dolphins have announced the new numbers for several players.

Winslow Townson-USA TODAY Sports

The Miami Dolphins have begun their 2016 offseason training program, which means players are returning this week to the team facilities for the first time, and they are able to start talking to coaches about the plans for the upcoming season. It also means, some of the players are officially Dolphins for the first time, which includes receiving their jersey numbers. The team announced the numbers for all of their newly acquired players today, as well as a few number changes for returning players.

Defensive end Mario Williams, who joins Miami from the Buffalo Bills, will wear 94, the same number he wore in Buffalo. Williams wore 90 to begin his career with the Houston Texans.

Cornerback Byron Maxwell, who was acquired in a trade with the Philadelphia Eagles, had a down year last season wearing number 31. He is therefore returning to the number where he saw success as a member of the Seattle Seahawks, where he was number 41.

Linebacker Kiko Alonso, who was also a member of the trade with the Eagles, will wear number 47 after being number 50 with the Bills and Eagles.

Former Dolphins running back Daniel Thomas, who returns to the team after playing for them from 2011-2014, will again wear number 30, which he wore in 2014. Previously he had been number 33.

Sadly, wide receiver Tyler Murphy is joining the team only to wear the cursed number 19.

Players changing jersey numbers for Miami include wide receiver Matt Hazel, who will go from 83 to 15; cornerback Jamar Taylor, who goes from 22 to 21; running back Damien Williams, who moves from 34 to 26; and defensive end Damontre Moore, who goes from 57 to 98.

The full list of new numbers, and the changes, is below:

WR Christion Jones - 1

QB Zac Dysert - 2

WR Matt Hazel - 15 (was 83)

WR Griff Whalen - 18

WR Tyler Murphy - 19

CB Jamar Taylor - 21 (was 22)

S Isa Abdul-Quddus - 24

RB Damien Williams - 26 (was 34)

RB Daniel Thomas - 30

CB Damarr Aultman - 37

CB Chimdi Chekwa - 38

CB Byron Maxwell - 41

LB Kiko Alonso - 47

TE MarQueis Gray - 48

DE Andre Branch - 50

G Kraig Urbik - 60

DT Charles Tuaau - 61

DE Cleyon Laing - 72

OL Jermon Bushrod - 74

T Sam Young - 79

WR A.J. Cruz - 81

TE Dominique Jones - 85

WR Tyler Davis - 87

DE Mario Williams - 94

DE Damontre Moore - 98 (was 57)