clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NFL Hall of Fame 2016 Class: Finalists, announcement time, and more

The 2016 class for the Pro Football Hall of Fame will be determined today. Here are the finalists, as well as when the class will be announced.

Kevin Casey/Getty Images

The Saturday before the Super Bowl has become a day for the NFL to recognize the great players and coaches from the current season. The day also includes the decision on the newest class to enter the Pro Football Hall of Fame. The voters for enshrinement in the Canton, Ohio museum meet Saturday morning and into the afternoon as they select the top all-time players in league history.

The selection process started this year with 108 potential nominees. It was hen whittled to 25 semi-finalists in the fall, followed by a final list of 15 modern era candidates in the winter. The official list of potential inductees includes those 15 players and coaches, as well as two senior candidates and one contributor.

This year, the Miami Dolphins do not have any finalists up for consideration. Next year will mark the first season of eligibility for defensive end Jason Taylor, who does have the statistics to back up an eventual induction into the Hall of Fame.

This year, Alan Faneca, Brett Favre, and Terrell Owens are all in their first year of eligibility.

Here are the finalists below and here's a link to more on each of them. The 2016 class will be announced at the NFL Honors show on Saturday night (9pm ET on CBS).

Morten Andersen, Kicker -- 1982-1994 New Orleans Saints, 1995-2000, 2006-07 Atlanta Falcons, 2001 New York Giants, 2002-03 Kansas City Chiefs, 2004 Minnesota Vikings

Steve Atwater, Safety -- 1989-1998 Denver Broncos, 1999 New York Jets

Don Coryell, Coach -- 1973-77 St. Louis Cardinals, 1978-1986 San Diego Chargers

Terrell Davis, Running Back -- 1995-2001 Denver Broncos

Tony Dungy, Coach -- 1996-2001Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 2002-08 Indianapolis Colts

Alan Faneca, Guard -- 1998-2007 Pittsburgh Steelers, 2008-09 New York Jets, 2010 Arizona Cardinals

Brett Favre, Quarterback -- 1991 Atlanta Falcons, 1992-2007 Green Bay Packers, 2008 New York Jets, 2009-2010 Minnesota Vikings

Kevin Greene, Linebacker/Defensive End -- 1985-1992 Los Angeles Rams, 1993-95 Pittsburgh Steelers, 1996, 1998-99 Carolina Panthers, 1997 San Francisco 49ers

Marvin Harrison, Wide Receiver --1996-2008 Indianapolis Colts

Joe Jacoby, Tackle -- 1981-1993Washington Redskins

Edgerrin James, Running Back --1999-2005 Indianapolis Colts, 2006-08 Arizona Cardinals, 2009 Seattle Seahawks

John Lynch, Free Safety -- 1993-2003 Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 2004-07 Denver Broncos

Terrell Owens, Wide Receiver -- 1996-2003 San Francisco 49ers, 2004-05 Philadelphia Eagles, 2006-08 Dallas Cowboys, 2009 Buffalo Bills, 2010 Cincinnati Bengals

Orlando Pace, Tackle -- 1997-2008 St. Louis Rams, 2009 Chicago Bears

Kurt Warner, Quarterback -- 1998-2003 St. Louis Rams, 2004 New York Giants, 2005-09 Arizona Cardinals

Senior finalists

Ken Stabler, Quarterback -- 1970-1979Oakland Raiders, 1980-1981 Houston Oilers, 1982-1984 New Orleans Saints

Dick Stanfel, Guard -- 1952-55 Detroit Lions, 1956-58 Washington Redskins

Contributor finalist

Edward DeBartolo, Jr., Owner -- 1977-2000 San Francisco 49ers