clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ndamukong Suh leads defensive tackles in Pro Bowl fan vote

The Miami Dolphins defensive tackle is currently atop the position in making the all-star event.

Miami Dolphins v Baltimore Ravens Photo by Patrick Smith/Getty Images

Miami Dolphins defensive tackle Ndamukong Suh has been having a dominant year in the middle of the team’s defensive line, routinely battling double teams, pressuring quarterbacks, and making game-saving tackles. After a “down” year last year, a year in which Suh actually played really well but had his play undervalued due to the size of the contract he signed, Suh appears to be comfortable in new defensive coordinator Vance Joseph’s system and is being given the freedom to make plays. He has responded to that freedom and is playing like the player the Dolphins, and the Dolphins fans, wanted when he signed with the club.

According to a release from the NFL, Suh is actually getting recognized by fans across the country as well. He currently leads all defensive tackles in the fan-vote for the Pro Bowl. The release listed the top vote recipients at each position in each conference. Suh currently has 184,749 votes for the AFC and Los Angeles Rams defensive tackle Aaron Donald has 178,222 votes in the NFC.

The top overall vote recipient thus far has been Dallas Cowboys running back Ezekiel Elliott, who has 681,361 votes. He is followed by Cowboys quarterback Dak Prescott (607,621), New England Patriots quarterback Tom Brady (519,210), Pittsburgh Steelers wide receiver Antonio Brown (508,913), and quarterback Derek Carr (500,770). The top ten is rounded out with Atlanta Falcons quarterback Matt Ryan (455,264), Falcons wide receiver Julio Jones (438,112), New York Giants wide receiver Odell Beckham, Jr. (429,728), Arizona Cardinals running back David Johnson (405,436), and New Orleans Saints quarterback Drew Brees (403,802).

This year, the Pro Bowl, which will be held in Orlando, Florida, will return to the AFC versus NFC format after three years of “unconferenced,” fantasy-draft style of play. Players are selected through a vote of players, coaches, and fans, each counting for one-third of the deciding votes. The vote will determine the 88 players who will be used in the game.

Fans can continue to vote through and using #ProBowlVote and the player’s first and last name on Twitter through Tuesday, December 13. The players and coaches will vote on Friday, December 16, with the Pro Bowl rosters announced on Tuesday, December 20.

The Pro Bowl will be played January 29 in Camping World Stadium, Orlando.