clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jarvis Landry And Branden Albert Named To Pro Bowl

The Miami Dolphins will be represented at the 2016 NFL Pro Bowl.

Jayne Kamin-Oncea-USA TODAY Sports

Dolphins center Mike Pouncey was voted to the Pro Bowl but had to withdraw due to a foot/ankle injury he sustained in late December. He was the only Dolphin player to have been voted in. With Pouncey not able to go, it looked as though the Dolphins would have no one to represent them.

Good news though! Jarvis Landry and Branden Albert will be heading to Hawaii!

Landry will be replacing Pittsburgh Steelers wide receiver Antonio Brown. Landry had a very productive season for the Dolphins, totaling a franchise-record 110 receptions. His 1,157 receiving yards were sixth-most in a single-season in team history. Landry totaled 1,947 combined yards (1,157 receiving, 113 rushing and 667 return yards), placing him fifth in club annals. For his career, Landry has caught more passes (194) than any player has ever amassed in his first two NFL seasons.

This will be Landry's first Pro Bowl and he will be the eighth Dolphins receiver to head to the Pro Bowl. He joins Paul Warfield (1970-74), Nat Moore (1977), Mark Duper (1983-84, 1986), Mark Clayton (1984-86, 1988, 1991), Irving Fryar (1993-94), Chris Chambers (2005) and Brandon Marshall (2011).

Albert will be replacing Washington Redskins tackle Trent Williams. Albert started 14 games at left tackle in 2015 and earned the team’s Ed Block Courage Award after overcoming a significant right knee injury on Nov. 9, 2014. He protected Ryan Tannehill's blind side and helped the quarterback pass for 4,208 yards, which is the most in Tannehill's career. He also helped Lamar Miller score a career high eight rushing touchdowns.

Albert will be attending his second Pro Bowl. He went once with the Kansas City Chiefs and will now represent the Dolphins. He becomes the fifth Dolphins tackle to be selected to the Pro Bowl. He joins Norm Evans (1972, 1974), Wayne Moore (1973), Richmond Webb (1990-96) and Long (2008-11) on the list.