clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Matt Darr named Professional Football Writers of America All-Rookie punter

Miami Dolphins rookie punter Matt Darr received recognition for a great season.

Geoff Burke-USA TODAY Sports

Ahead of the 2015 season, the Miami Dolphins signed undrafted free agent punter Matt Darr to provide a second leg in training camp along side the incumbent Brandon Fields. A funny thing happened on the way to the season, however, as Darr went from just a training camp leg to the team's starting punter, with Fields released from the roster. It was an unexpected move, but one that would prove to work out for the team.

Darr averaged 47.6 yards per kick this year, punting 92 times. He recorded 10 touchbacks and 30 kicks that pinned opponents inside their own 20 yard line.

Those stats were good enough for third in the league in average, just 0.3 yards behind Johnny Hekker for the league lead. He was also eighth in the league in kicks inside the 20.

The Professional Football Writers of America (PFWA) consists of accredited writers who cover the NFL and the 32 teams on a daily basis. After a vote from all eligible writers, the full 2015 PFWA All-Rookie Team is:

2015 PFWA ROOKIE OF THE YEAR: RB Todd Gurley, St. Louis Rams
2015 PFWA OFFENSIVE ROOKIE OF THE YEAR: RB Todd Gurley, St. Louis Rams
2015 PFWA DEFENSIVE ROOKIE OF THE YEAR: CB Marcus Peters, Kansas City Chiefs



QB - Jameis Winston, Tampa Bay Buccaneers

RB - Todd Gurley, St. Louis Rams; Thomas Rawls, Seattle Seahawks

WR - Amari Cooper, Oakland Raiders; Stefon Diggs, Minnesota Vikings

TE - Will Tye, New York Giants

C - Mitch Morse, Kansas City Chiefs

G - Ali Marpet, Tampa Bay Buccaneers; Brandon Scherff, Washington Redskins

T - Rob Havenstein, St. Louis Rams; Donovan Smith, Tampa Bay Buccaneers


DL - Malcom Brown, New England Patriots; Eddie Goldman, Chicago Bears; Danielle Hunter, Minnesota Vikings; Leonard Williams, New York Jets

LB - Kwon Alexander, Tampa Bay Buccaneers; Stephone Anthony, New Orleans Saints; Eric Kendricks, Minnesota Vikings

CB - Ronald Darby, Buffalo Bills; Marcus Peters, Kansas City Chiefs

S - Adrian Amos, Chicago Bears; Landon Collins, New York Giants

Special Teams

PK - Josh Lambo, San Diego Chargers

P - Matt Darr, Miami Dolphins

KR - Tyler Lockett, Seattle Seahawks

PR - Tyler Lockett, Seattle Seahawks

ST - Tyler Lockett, Seattle Seahawks