clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

All-Time Quarterback rankings: Using the Kelly Scale

New, comments

We use the Kelly Scale to rank the all-time quarterbacks in the NFL.

Al Messerschmidt/Getty Images

Yesterday, Miami Dolphins fans had a long discussion about Dan Marino's place in history, and whether he was "good enough" to have won a Super Bowl. it made me wonder, where exactly would I place Marino in history. Using the "Kelly scale," here are the top quarterbacks in NFL history:

  1. Tom Brady
  2. Joe Montana
  3. Terry Bradshaw
  4. Troy Aikman
  5. John Elway
  6. Roger Staubach
  7. Ben Roethlisberger
  8. Bob Griese
  9. Bart Starr
  10. Eli Manning
  11. Jim Plunkett
  12. Kurt Warner
  13. Peyton Manning
  14. Brett Favre
  15. Joe Theismann
  16. Len Dawson
  17. Russell Wilson
  18. Aaron Rodgers
  19. Drew Brees
  20. Brad Johnson
  21. Doug Williams
  22. Steve Young
  23. Jeff Hostetler
  24. Jim McMahon
  25. Joe Flacco
  26. Johnny Unitas
  27. Ken Stabler
  28. Phil Simms
  29. Mark Rypien
  30. Trent Dilfer
  31. Jim Kelly
  32. Fran Tarkenton
  33. Craig Morton
  34. Billy Kilmer
  35. Steve McNair
  36. Boomer Esiason
  37. Chris Chandler
  38. Earl Morrall
  39. Daryl Lamonica
  40. David Woodley
  41. Ron Jaworski
  42. Donovan McNabb
  43. Matt Hasselbeck
  44. Rich Gannon
  45. Vince Ferragamo
  46. Kerry Collins
  47. Neil O'Donnell
  48. Jake Delhomme
  49. Drew Bledsoe
  50. Joe Kapp
  51. Colin Kaepernick
  52. Ken Anderson
  53. Rex Grossman
  54. Stan Humphries
  55. Tony Eason
  56. Dan Marino

Really, using this scale, Marino could rank anywhere from 34 to 56, but, in the tone of the article, why not drop him all the way to the bottom. If you haven't figured it out, the rankings are all the quarterbacks who have won Super Bowls (30), followed by those who have been to the championship game, but never won. The specific order is by wins with ties broken by appearances, then, if they never won, by number of losses. Marino, of course, was 0-1 in the Super Bowl, which is the same as everyone from Billy Kilmer on down.

I guess, since Dan Marino was not good enough to win a Super Bowl, the first 30 of these players must have been better than him and the other 25 were probably equals. At least using the Kelly scale.