clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Dolphins 50th Season Depth Chart: One spot remains

The Miami Dolphins are celebrating their 50th anniversary season this year. We take a look back at the last 50 years to build the all-time team depth chart.

Gregory Shamus/Getty Images

The Miami Dolphins will celebrate their 50th NFL season this year, spanning from 1966 to 2015. Thousands of players have hit the field for the team over that time, helping the team appear in five Super Bowls, winning two of them, including the only undefeated season in league history. Despite spending the last decade stuck in a purgatory of mediocrity, the Dolphins are still hold the fourth highest winning percentage in the NFL at .565, behind just the Dallas CowboysChicago Bears, and Green Bay Packers.

The team has eight Hall of Famer players, Nick Buoniconti, Larry Csonka, Bob Griese, Jim Langer, Larry Little, Dan Marino, Dwight Stephenson, and Paul Warfield, plus one Hall of Fame coach Don Shula. Another three Hall of Famers, Cris Carter, Junior Seau, and Thurman Thomas, all had brief stints in aqua on their way to Canton.

As we all look forward to better days for the Dolphins from this rut that has been the franchise since the turn of the century, we can also look back at one of the premier franchises of the NFL as they turn 50. We've spent the last couple of weeks building the team's all-time depth chart. Now, we put it all together.

This morning, we take a look back at our (nearly) completed depth chart.


Receiver Receiver Left Tackle Left Guard Center Right Guard Right Tackle Tight End Receiver
Mark Clayton Mark Duper Richmond Webb Bob Kuechenberg Dwight Stephenson Larry Little Jake Long Randy McMichael Paul Warfield
Nat Moore Chris Chambers Keith Jackson O.J. McDuffie
Bruce Hardy
Quarterback Jim Mandich
Dan Marino Offensive Line Reserves
Half Back Bob Griese Fullback Jim Langer
Ricky Williams Ryan Tannehill Larry Csonka Ed Newman
Jim Kiick Tim Ruddy
Mercury Morris Keith Sims
Ronnie Brown Jeff Dellenbach

Defense/Special Teams

Cornerback Defensive End Defensive Tackle Defensive Tackle Defensive End Cornerback
Sam Madison Jason Taylor Bob Baumhower Manny Fernandez Bill Stanfill Patrick Surtain
Terrell Buckley Vern Den Herder Tim Bowens Daryl Gardener Cameron Wake Curtis Johnson
Linebacker Linebacker Linebacker
Nick Buoniconti Zach Thomas John Offerdahl
Kim Bokamper A.J. Duhe Bryan Cox
Safety Safety
Dick Anderson Jake Scott
Glenn Blackwood Brock Marion
Punter Kicker
Reggie Roby Olindo Mare

Our depth chart currently breaks down to 28 players on offense, 22 players on defense, and the 2 special teams players, or 52 players on a 53 man roster. This is where our readers now come into the process. There is one spot remaining, and you will fill it with the most deserving player from the Dolphins' past. In the comments will be some nominees, and you should feel free to add anyone else you so choose. I will ask you to then "rec" the nominees you agree should be on the ballot. I will then collect the top recommended players and make a poll for you to vote on the last member of the 50th Anniversary Depth Chart.