clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Miami Dolphins roster: Tracking the changes 2012 to 2015

We look at the changes in the Miami Dolphins roster from 2012 to 2015.

Steve Mitchell-USA TODAY Sports

The Miami Dolphins have been under the direction of Joe Philbin since the beginning of the 2012 season.  Heading into the fourth season with Philbin, we look at the starting lineup for the Dolphins each year of his tenure, including the projected starting lineup for this season.

2012 2013 2014 2015
QB Ryan Tannehill Ryan Tannehill Ryan Tannehill Ryan Tannehill
RB Reggie Bush Lamar Miller Lamar Miller Lamar Miller
TE Anthony Fasano Charles Clay Charles Clay Jordan Cameron
LT Jake Long Jonathan Martin / Bryant McKinnie Branden Albert Branden Albert
LG Richie Incognito Richie Incognito Daryn Colledge Dallas Thomas
C Mike Pouncey Mike Pouncey Samson Satele Mike Pouncey
RG John Jerry John Jerry Mike Pouncey Billy Turner
RT Jonathan Martin Tyson Clabo Ja'Wuan James Ja'Wuan James
WR Brian Hartline Mike Wallace Mike Wallace Greg Jennings
WR Davone Bess Brian Hartline Brian Hartline Kenny Stills
WR Armon Binns Brandon Gibson Jarvis Landry Jarvis Landry
DE Cameron Wake Cameron Wake Cameron Wake Cameron Wake
DT Randy Starks Randy Starks Randy Starks Earl Mitchell
DT Paul Soliai Paul Soliai Jared Odrick Ndamukong Suh
DE Jared Odrick Olivier Vernon Olivier Vernon Olivier Vernon
LB Kevin Burnett Philip Wheeler Jelani Jenkins Jelani Jenkins
LB Karlos Dansby Dannell Ellerbe Koa Misi Koa Misi
LB Koa Misi Koa Misi Philip Wheeler Chris McCain
CB Sean Smith Brent Grimes Brent Grimes Brent Grimes
CB Richard Marshall Nolan Carroll Cortland Finnegan Jamar Taylor
S Reshad Jones Reshad Jones Reshad Jones Reshad Jones
S Chris Clemons Chris Clemons Louis Delmas Louis Delmas
P Brandon Fields Brandon Fields Brandon Fields Brandon Fields
K Dan Carpenter Caleb Sturgis Caleb Sturgis Caleb Sturgis

Obviously, a lot has changed for the Dolphins over Philbin's four seasons, but there's actually a lot that has stayed the same. Tannehill has been the quarterback all four seasons, with Miller holding steady as the top running back after the team allowed Reggie Bush to leave after the 2012 season.

The rest of the offense has been a rotation of players, with the tight end position seeing three different starters in four years, only Pouncey remaining as an offensive lineman over the entire span, and none of the 2012 wide receivers still on the Dolphins' roster.

The defense has seen a similar situation, with Wake, Jones, and Misi starting all four years, along with Vernon and Grimes each of the last three seasons. Randy Starks had started three straight years, but was allowed to leave in the offseason and will be replaced, likely by Earl Mitchell, though Jordan Phillips, A.J. Francis, and C.J. Mosley are all potential starters as well.

The linebackers have seen the largest turnover, with Misi being teamed with Burnett, Dansby, Ellerbe, Wheeler, Jenkins, and McCain over the four seasons. Cornerback has seen Grimes solidify one starting cornerback position over the past three years, but the other spot has seen a different starter each year. Taylor appears to be set for this year's starter position, but Will Davis could make a push for the spot.

On special teams, Fields has held the punter position all four seasons, while Sturgis has been the kicker the last two years, and should hold it again this year; injuries and accuracy issues could lead to someone else taking the kicker position, however.