clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Dolphins announce team awards: Landry, Jones co-MVPs for 2015

The Miami Dolphins announced their team awards on Thursday.

Steve Mitchell-USA TODAY Sports

The Miami Dolphins have announced their team awards for 2015. The teams gives out four awards annually: the Don Shula Leadership Award, the Dan Marino Most Valuable Player Award, the Ed Block Courage Award, and the Nat Moore Community Service Award. A player is also recognized by the media for the Good Guy Award.

This year's Don Shula Leadership Award and media Good Guy Award both were presented to center Mike Pouncey. Pouncey has now won the leadership award, which is voted upon by the players, twice, joining Dan Marino, Zach Thomas, Derrick Rodgers, Jason Taylor, Junior Seau, Karlos Dansby, and Cameron Wake as the only players with multiple awards.

The Ed Block Courage Award was presented to offensive tackle Branden Albert, who returned to the team after a devastating knee injury at the end of the 2014 season. Albert, who struggled with injuries at times this season, was able to round back into form and, when he was able to play, solidify the blindside of quarterback Ryan Tannehill.

The Nat Moore Community Service Award was presented to safety Michael Thomas, as chosen by the Miami Dolphins Foundation. Thomas was presented the key to Fort Pierce by the city's mayor for his involvement in the community and the safety has made a huge effort to be involved throughout the region, despite being a native of Texas.

The Dan Marino Most Valuable Player Award was split between two players for the fourth time in team history, both winning the award for their first time. Wide receiver Jarvis Landry joins Paul Warfield, O.J. McDuffie and Chris Chambers as the only wide receivers to win the award, while safety Reshad Jones is the first safety and second defensive back to win the award, joining Brent Grimes.Jones leads all NFL defensive backs with 131 total tackles and is the only player in the NFL to record more than 100 tackles and five interceptions. This season, he has set career highs in tackles (131), sacks (2.0), interceptions (5), interceptions returned for touchdown (2) and passes defensed (10). Landry became the first Dolphins receiver in team history to record 100-plus receptions in a season as he has totaled 104 receptions for 1,085 yards with four touchdowns through 15 games of the 2015 season. Landry ranks among the top ten in the NFL in receptions (104), first downs made (63), rushing yards (107), punt return average (9.5) and is one of just four receivers to complete a pass this season.

The Dan Marino MVP Award is voted upon by the South Florida media and the organization. The other seasons with co-MVPs were 1970 (QB Bob Griese and WR Paul Warfield), 2002 (DE Jason Taylor and RB Ricky Williams) and 2008 (QB Chad Pennington and DE Joey Porter).