clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Pro Bowl captains announced: Drew Brees, Jamaal Charles, Robert Quinn, and JJ Watt to pick teams

The NFL announced yesterday the four active players who will join Jerry Rice and Deion Sanders as captains for the 2014 Pro Bowl. This is the first year the teams will be determined by captains, without regard to conference. The "Pro Bowl Draft" will be held January 21-22.

Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports



-- New "Unconferenced" Pro Bowl Format Culminates with Stars Being Realigned in

Pro Bowl Draft on NFL Network on January 21-22 --

The active player captains for the 2014 Pro Bowl will be quarterback Drew Brees, running back Jamaal Charles, defensive end Robert Quinn and defensive end J.J. Watt, the NFL announced today. Brees and Quinn will be paired together, while Watt and Charles will work as a duo.

These four captains, which are comprised of the top two leading vote getters on offense and defense from the teams that did not advance to the conference championship round, will help determine rosters for Team Rice and Team Sanders during the first-ever Pro Bowl Draft on January 21-22.

Pro Football Hall of Famers Jerry Rice and Deion Sanders will serve as alumni team captains for the Pro Bowl squads and have final say over draft decisions. The NFL legends will each be assisted by two active player captains and one fantasy football champion in the draft process.

To determine which team owns the first selection in the Pro Bowl Draft and how the alumni captains will be paired with active player captains, there will be a coin toss on Tuesday morning, January 21, 2014.

The 2014 Pro Bowl Draft will be nationally televised on January 21-22with primetime broadcasts on NFL Network on Tuesday (8:00-9:00 PM ET) and Wednesday (8:00-11:00 PM ET).

The Pro Bowl Draft will be held in Kapolei, HI on the grounds of Lanikuhonua, adjacent to the JW Marriott Ihilani Ko Olina Resort & Spa. All 88 Pro Bowl players are expected to be in attendance for Wednesday's live show.

The 2014 Pro Bowl, presented by McDonald's, will be played at Aloha Stadium in Honolulu, Hawaii. The game will be televised live on Sunday, January 26 on NBC at 7:00 PM ET.