clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Dolphins Mount Rushmore 2 Results

A week ago, we asked who would fill the four positions on the Miami Dolphins' second Mt. Rushmore. Today, we take a look at the results.

Steve Mitchell-US PRESSWIRE

It's been a week since we posed the question, who would fill the positions on a second Mt. Rushmore exhibit for the Miami Dolphins. We made it the second exhibit, because the first was already filled with Don Shula, Dan Marino, Bob Griese, and Larry Conska.

After nearly 1,000 votes, the results are in on the second set of four.

1. Jason Taylor (77%) - Six Pro Bowls, three First Team All Pro selections, NFL Defensive Player of the Year, Walter Payton Man of the Year, NFL record holder for most fumbles returned for touchdowns, NFL 2000s All-Decade Team, two AFC Defensive Player of the Year, seven AFC Defensive Player of the Week, three AFC Defensive Player of the Month, Dolphins Newcomer of the Year, four Dan Marino Team MVP Awards, two Don Shula Team Leadership Awards, 131 sacks, 712 tackles, 8 interceptions, 43 forced fumbles, 27 fumble recoveries, and 9 touchdowns. Yeah, that's worthy of taking the top spot, and could be a good argument for him being on the top Mt. Rushmore.

2. Zach Thomas (54%) - Thomas may not have the same number of awards as Taylor, but he actually has more Pro Bowls (7) and First Team All Pro selections (5). He was also the 1996 Defensive Rookie of the Year, a two time Dan Marino Team MVP, three time Don Shula Leadership Award winner, an NFL Defensive Player of the Month, and was selected to the NFL 2000s All-Decade Team. With Miami he recorded 1,639 tackles, 19.5 sacks, 17 interceptions, four touchdowns, 16 forced fumbles, and 7 fumble recoveries. Add in his one year with the Dallas Cowboys, and Thomas has 1,737 career tackles, good enough for third all time on the NFL list behind Ray Lewis and London Fletcher.

3. Dwight Stephenson (33%) - Regarded as one of, if not the, best centers to ever play the game, Stephenson only had an eight year career, thanks to a knee injury. The last five of those years, he was named to the Pro Bowl, the last four, he earned First Team All Pro selections, including the 1987 season, which only saw him play in nine games. Stephenson made two Super Bowl appearances, being an AFC Champion in 1982 and 1984, and was the Walter Payton Man of the Year in 1985. He was named to the 1980s All-Decade Team, and was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1998.

4. Joe Robbie (27%) - Without Robbie, there wouldn't be a Dolphins franchise. The original owner of the team, Robbie was inducted into the Dolphins Ring of Honor in September 1990, the first person to be so honored. The stadium he built originally bore his name, until 1996 when corporate sponsorship was first placed on it. Robbie passed away in January 1990. He was 73 years old.

What do you think? Were the right four people placed on Mr. Rushmore 2?

Here's a look at the entire break down of votes (poor Brock Marion).


More Dolphins Coverage: