clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2013 NFL Free Agency: All You Need to Know After Franchise Tag Monday

The period to designate impending free agents with the franchise tag has come and gone with eight teams deciding to use the tag (down from 21 last year). The players designated are OTs Ryan Clady (Denver Broncos) and Branden Albert (Kansas City Chiefs), DTs Randy Starks (Miami Dolphins) and Henry Melton (Chicago Bears), DE Michael Johnson (Cincinnati Bengals), LB Anthony Spencer (Dallas Cowboys), S Jairus Byrd (Buffalo Bills), and P Pat McAfee (Indianapolis Colts).

All eight players were given the nonexclusive franchise tag, meaning they are free to negotiate with any other team, but, if they were to sign with another franchise, the new team would have to compensate the previous team with two first round draft picks.

Brad Wells of SB Nation breaks down what it all means and examines key players who were able to avoid the tag, enabling them to shop their services on the open market next week.