clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Dolphins Present DT Tony McDaniel With Ed Block Courage Award

The Miami Dolphins have named defensive tackle Tony McDaniel the winner of the Ed Block Courage Award. The award goes annually to the player who fought through significant adversity during the season. McDaniel came back from injury twice this year.

Alex Trautwig

Miami Dolphins reserve defensive tackle Tony McDaniel was presented the Ed Block Courage Award today. The award is presented to the player who fought through adversity for each NFL team. McDaniel had to overcome two injuries to his right knee this year.

McDaniel was originally injured during the preseason and had to have his knee scoped after Week 1. He returned to action in Week 5 before being injured again in Week 8. McDaniel would miss the next game, as well as the team's Week 11 game, trying to get over the injury.

The seven year veteran would record 11 tackles, 0.5 sacks, one pass defensed, and one fumble recovery this season. McDaniel is a free agent this March, the end of the current league year.

The Miami Dolphins' past winners of the award are:

1984 Nat Moore
1985 Woody Bennett
1986 Charles Bowser
1987 Jon Giesler
1988 Glenn Blackwood
1989 Don McNeal
1990 Liffort Hobley
1991 Sammie Smith
1992 John Grimsley
1993 John Offerdahl
1994 Troy Vincent
1995 Dan Marino
1996 Bernie Parmalee
1997 O.J. McDuffie
1998 Larry Izzo
1999 O.J. Brigance
2000 Darryl Gardener
2001 Scott Galyon
2002 Robert Edwards
2003 Jamie Nails
2004 David Bowens
2005 Yeremiah Bell
2006 Zach Thomas
2007 Andre Goodman
2008 Ronnie Brown
2009 Justin Smiley
2010 Patrick Cobbs
2011 Jake Long
2012 Tony McDaniel