clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Gillette No Debate Question: Who is this year's offensive MVP?

The NFL regular season is winding down, with just 16 games remaining before the playoffs start. With most of the season complete, Gillette has once again asked a question worthy of our discussion: Who is this year's offensive MVP and why?


The NFL regular season is coming to a close, with one last weekend of games before the postseason starts and 20 of the league's 32 teams are sitting at home. With most of the season complete, it's time for us to start thinking about the season awards. Gillette asks, via their Facebook page, who is the offensive MVP this year, and why?

I'll be a little more descriptive in my answer to that question, however. Over the last week, the SB Nation NFL bloggers voted on all the season awards for the league. So, besides answering the offensive MVP, I will run down all of the awards, giving you my vote as well as the overall winner for each award.

Let's start at the top:

NFL MVP: Peyton Manning, Denver Broncos (12 votes); My vote for this award was to give it to Manning. This week, Denver became the favorite to win the Super Bowl, and that would not be true without Manning under center. Second place in the vote was to Adrian Peterson, who could win this, and I would not complain. I just think, Manning to the Broncos getting them into the playoffs and being Super Bowl favorites is a little more impressive than Peterson chasing the 2,000 yard mark on a team that's only weapon is Peterson. My preseason pick: Aaron Rodgers, Green Bay Packers

Offensive Player of the Year: Adrian Peterson, Minnesota Vikings (21 votes): Again, my vote agreed with the winner. Peterson deserves this, simply because he has been incredible as the only offensive weapon in Minnesota, and he is chasing 2,000 yards. Of course, you could make an argument that Detroit's Calvin Johnson (3rd place, 2 votes) deserves it for chasing 2,000 yards receiving, something no one has done, but AD is simply deserving of this award. My preseason pick: Andre Johnson, Houston Texans

Defensive Player of the Year: J.J. Watt, Houston Texans (16 votes): I concede, I messed up on my vote here. I voted for the San Francisco 49ers' Aldon Smith, who came in second with seven votes, but the right answer for DPOY is Watt. Maybe it was a matter of the Dolphins having played the 49ers more recently, so I thought of Smith before Watt, but whatever the reason, Watt should win this award. My preseason pick: Cameron Make, Miami Dolphins

Coach of the Year: Bruce Arians, Indianapolis Colts (11 votes): I split my vote here, fairly certain Arians would win the award, I gave half my vote to Gary Kubiak as well. Arians is really the only coach that should win this award. He's an offensive coordinator thrust into a head coaching role when his coach was diagnosed with leukemia, and simply led the team that had the first overall pick last year to a playoff berth this year. If that doesn't win you the coach of the year award, I don't know what will. As for Kubiak, I think what he is doing in Houston is impressive, and he should have won the award last year, so it's a two year recognition of Kubiak's performance. My preseason pick: Gary Kubiak, Houston Texans

Executive of the Year: John Elway, Denver Broncos (8 votes): I can understand people voting for Elway. He deserves some recognition, specifically for being the guy to land Peyton Manning. But, he did not even cross my mind when I thought about this award. I voted for Indianapolis Colts general manager Ryan Grigson (4th place, 3 votes) for coming into a team that was clearly dismantling everything Bill Polian had built, including getting rid of Manning, and somehow built a playoff team out of the rubble. The Colts were the one team to acknowledge they are in a rebuilding process - and they are going to be playing in a week when 20 other teams are sitting at home. Just an impressive performance. My preseason pick: None.

Rookie of the Year: Robert Griffin III, Washington Redskins (15 votes): I don't think you can fault anyone for voting for either RG3, Indianapolis' Andrew Luck, or Seattle Seahawks quarterback Russell Wilson, as all of them have been impressive this year. RG3 winning does not surprise me, but my vote wen to Luck, giving him the nod because his team is locked into the playoffs already, and he has not had to miss time. My preseason pick: Offensive: Robert Griffin III, Washington Redskins; Defensive: Whitney Mercilus, Houston Texans

Comeback Player of the Year: Peyton Manning, Denver Broncos (23 votes): Despite this being the most lopsided of the awards, this was also the most hotly debated among the SB Nation bloggers when the results were emailed to us. You cannot argue that Adrian Peterson, and the inhuman recovery from a shredded knee in just eight months, is deserving of this award. However, my vote went to Manning because (1) he was forced to miss an entire season, (2) he had to have four surgeries on his neck, (3) there were real fears that one good hit could paralyze of kill him if he played football again, (4) he was not able to throw a football 20 yards last year, and (5) he was given up on by his former team. Now, he's back to Peyton Manning and people who thought he was done and ruled out any chance of Manning looking like Manning again are suddenly sure they never doubted Manning. My preseason pick: Peyton Manning, Denver Broncos

Now it's up to you. Who do you think should win each of these awards? Make sure you check out SB Nation's NFL Awards group announcing each of these awards to see the thoughts from some of the other bloggers about each award, and head over to Gillette's Facebook page to add to their discussion about the offensive MVP. You can also check out all of my preseason picks, including Super Bowl teams and standings in each division.