clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Tony Sparano finishes 2nd in "Coach of the Year" voting

New, comments

The Associated Press just announced that Falcons head coach Mike Smith has won the AP's Coach of the Year award.  Tony Sparano came in 2nd in the voting.

The voting was as close as it gets, with Smith picking up 23.5 votes and Sparano getting 22.5 votes.  My question is who the other 4 votes went to.  How could anyone not vote for either Smith or Sparano?  Those people should be stripped of their voting rights.

Either way, this just adds to the disrespect of the Dolphins by the media this year.  I guess leading the biggest single-season turnaround in NFL history doesn't count for much.  But I'm sure Tony will take a playoff win over this award anyways.